TorQ Percussion Quartet's self-titled debut features music with strong Canadian content.  Every work on this album was written or arranged by or written for the members of TorQ.  Featuring works by Eric Whitacre, Mark Duggan, Michael Smith, Elisha Denburg, Daniel Morphy, Richard Burrows and Jamie Drake, as well as improvisations created spontaneously by all four group members.

“This eponymous CD features improvisations, arrangements and compositions by group members Daniel Morphy, Jamie Drake and Richard Burrows, plus works by Toronto composers Michael Smith, Elisha Denburg and Mark Duggan. There’s lots of lively music here, but moments of contemplation too as in the bell-like sonorities of Duggan’s moving John’s Gone. TorQ was awarded a MARTY for “Best Emerging Performing Arts Group – 2009” by the Mississauga Arts Council and this debut release demonstrates why.”

- David Olds, editor, WholeNote Magazine

"In seven pieces and three improvisations, they also show off the wide range of mood, melody and counterpoint possible in a carefully laid out and layered programme. Better yet, this is a 100 per cent local effort that can stand proud among the growing throng of chamber percussion ensembles around the world. [...] Every moment on this disc pulses with the obvious love that these four guys have for what they do. 3.5/4 stars."

- John Terauds, classical music critic, Toronto Star/A Sound Mind music blog

TorQ Percussion Quartet